Yuquan Park (Black
Dragon Pond is a famous pond in the scenic Jade Spring
Park (Yu Quan Gong Yuan) located at the foot of Elephant
Hill, a short walk north of the Old Town of Lijiang
in Yunnan province, China. It was built in 1737 during
the Qing Dynasty and offers a spectacular view of the
region's tallest mountain, Jade Dragon Snow Mountain,
over its white marble bridge.
In the past, the pool itself has sometimes
been dry, spoiling the famous view. In 2010, however,
the park was declared a water conservation area by the
local government. As of 2014, the pool now stands full
of water, its former beauty now restored.
The park features several smaller temples
and pavilions: The Moon-Embracing Pavilion, originally
built in the late Ming Dynasty. The current structure
is a reproduction from 1963 after a fire in 1950.
The Dragon God Temple (Longshen Temple)
was constructed by local Naxi people in 1737 and is
located to the east of the park. It was given the name
Dragon God of Jade Spring by Emperor Qianlong of the
Qing Dynasty in the same year.
The threefold overlap Five-Phoenix Tower
(Wufeng Tower) was built during the Ming Dynasty (1601),
and today is located at the north end of the park. The
tower was originally situated at the Fuguo Temple, which
is 30 kilometers to the west, but was moved to Jade
Spring Park in 1979.